Wreaths Across America set for Saturday in Fowlerville

The Fowlerville Fourth of July Committee is sponsoring the 2nd Annual Wreaths Across America beginning at noon on Saturday, Dec. 19, at the Greenwood Cemetery in Fowlerville.

The program coincides with the ceremony at Arlington National Cemetery and similar events at over 2,500 other cemeteries across the nation.     Each ceremony is as varied as the men and women it honors with speakers, moving sentiments, pageantry and often music. One thing every ceremony has in common is the placing of wreaths on grave sites to honor those who have served, many offering the ultimate sacrifice while serving this nation.

The ceremony in Fowlerville, about an hour long, will feature remarks from state Sen. Lana Theis  and state Rep. (elect) Bob Bezotte. The ceremony and additional commentary will be directed by Livingston County Register of Deeds Brandon Denby, as well as special guests David Mester, Michelle Soli, and Mary Helfmann.

This year, in addition to the service branch and first responder wreaths, there will be a Gold Star wreath to honor those families whose loved one gave the ultimate sacrifice in service to our country. The laying of that wreath will be handled by Melissa (Hanks) Ketchel, sister of Lance Corporal Michael W. Hanks USMC who gave the ultimate sacrifice Nov. 17, 2004, while serving in Iraq during the Global War on Terror. He was a graduate of Fowlerville High School.

There is no charge for this event. Veterans, their family and friends, and the general public are welcome to attend. Requesting social distancing and adherence to health care guidelines be followed for the best and safest experience for all attending.

Brandon Denby, chairman of the Fowlerville 4th of July committee, will be the master of ceremonies and may be reached at (517) 546-0270, or by email @ BDenby@LivGov.com with questions or concerns.

PHOTO: Officers of the Fowlerville Fourth of July Committee invite the public to attend the ‘Wreaths Across America’ ceremony at Greenwood Cemetery on Saturday, Dec. 19. The program begins at noon. From left are Brandon Denby, committee chair; Melissa Salgado, secretary; Michelle Soli, vice chair; Mary Helfmann, trustee; and Jim Mayhew, treasurer. Not shown are committee members Dave Mester, Cindy Denby, Gary Helfmann, and Mike Brunger.


Sharing is caring!

The Livingston Post is the only locally owned, all-digital information and opinion site in Livingston County, Mich. It was launched by award-winning journalists who were laid off from the Livingston County Daily Press & Argus by Gannett Co. Inc. in 2009.

What do you think?