Theis, Bollin, Vaupel sworn in by U.S. Court of Appeals Judge Joan Larsen

Livingston County’s three state legislators officially assumed their offices on Friday evening in a ceremony at the John E. LaBelle Public Safety Complex in Howell – and they were sworn in by a high-profile judge.

U.S. 6th District Court of Appeals Judge Joan Larsen did the honors of swearing in State Sen. Lana Theis (R-Brighton Township), State Rep. Ann Bollin (R-Brighton Township) and State Rep. Hank Vaupel (R-Handy Township). A large crowd of family, friends and supporters were on hand for the occasion.

Vaupel was re-elected to his third and final term representing the 47th State House District, which encompasses the Fowlerville, Howell and Hartland areas.

Bollin, the former Brighton Township clerk, was elected to her first term representing the 42nd State House District, which covers the Brighton and Pinckney areas.

Theis, the former state representative for the 42nd District, was elected to her first term in the State Senate, representing the 22nd District, which covers all of Livingston County and western Washtenaw County. She replaces Sen. Joe Hune, who was term-limited out of office. Hune and his family were on hand for the occasion.

Larsen, a former Michigan Supreme Court justice, was said to be on President Donald Trump’s short list for the last two vacancies on the U.S. Supreme Court.

Sharing is caring!

The Livingston Post is the only locally owned, all-digital information and opinion site in Livingston County, Mich. It was launched by award-winning journalists who were laid off from the Livingston County Daily Press & Argus by Gannett Co. Inc. in 2009.