First National Bank announces scholarship winners

Sharing is caring!

First National Bank awarded its 2019 Community Scholarship and Teacher Classroom Grant recipients. Ten scholarships of $1,000 each were awarded to the selected Livingston County high school seniors to continue their academic or vocational education. The bank also presented five teacher classroom grants of $250.

The Community Scholarship selection criteria focuses on dedicated and proven community service participation along with academics (a minimum 3.0 GPA is required), recommendation letters, and challenges, if any, overcome to graduate.  The teacher classroom grants were selected using information provided by the scholarship applicants in both their written applications and personal interviews where they addressed questions regarding educators who made a significant contribution to their educational experience, which is used to help identify classroom grant recipients.

During a banquet recognizing the recipients Ron Long, President/CEO of First National Bank, said “service to our customers and community” sets First National Bank apart.

“The Community Scholarship Program and the teacher classroom grants are wonderful examples of the power of local banking at work,” Long said. “First National staff and community leaders are involved in the selection process; the scholarships benefit the future leaders of our community; and the grants help our teachers with their important work guiding and shaping the fine young people in our schools. This is truly a win, win, win program and First National is proud of the more than $250,000 provided through it since its inception.”

The Livingston County winners of the 2019 First National Bank Community Scholarship gather for a photo.

The 2019 First National Bank Community Scholarship Program recipients, each receiving a $1,000 scholarship, are:

Hope Baeckelandt – Pinckney High School
Rebecca Darish – Hartland High School
Gabriel Gatesman – Howell High School
Courtney Jarema – Pinckney High School
Alec Johnson – Fowlerville High School
Gabrielle Myers – Brighton High School
Jade Osborn – Fowlerville High School
Loviisa Pasternak – Hartland High School
Ciera Richardson – Howell High School
Brooke Warren – Brighton High School

These Livingston County teachers each received a 2019 First National Bank Classroom Grant.

The 2019 Teacher Classroom Grant recipients, each receiving a $250 grant to help provide a better classroom experience for students (i.e. a special field trip experience; teacher continuing education to be better equipped to impact the positive development of students; providing additional classroom supplies, etc.), are:

Kelly Armstrong – Brighton Area Schools
Michelle Spisz – Fowlerville Community Schools
Anne Hasseld – Hartland Consolidated Schools
Kailea Marrocco – Howell Public Schools
Christopher Ozias – Pinckney Community Schools

Sharing is caring!

About The Livingston Post 1776 Articles
The Livingston Post is the only locally owned, all-digital information and opinion site in Livingston County, Mich. It was launched by award-winning journalists who were laid off from the Livingston County Daily Press & Argus by Gannett Co. Inc. in 2009.